Register |  Lost Password?
eSchool News

eSchool Media to stream Iowa Bullying Prevention Summit live

Awareness is growing that what used to be excused as “kids being kids” is more harmful than previously realized.

eSchool Media, in partnership with EduVision by JDL Horizons, will be streaming live video coverage of the Iowa Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit on Nov. 27.

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds are hosting the summit, which is open to the public. The summit will be held on Nov. 27 at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines. It will be paid for with funding from the Iowa Department of Education, registration fees, and support from the private sector.

The Iowa Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit is intended to raise awareness about the pervasive problem of bullying and to send the strongest possible message that our schools alone cannot stop it, that communities must become more engaged in taking the steps needed to address this issue.

Awareness is growing that what used to be excused as “kids being kids” is more harmful than previously realized. Making threats, spreading rumors, excluding classmates, and hurting someone physically or verbally are examples of behavior that can scar the children who are targeted—even potentially creating a risk factor for suicide. The summit will address these issues and also how cyber-bullying presents new challenges.

The Bullying Prevention Summit will launch with opening remarks by Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds at 11:00 AM EST, 10:00 AM CST, and 8:00 AM PST, followed by the opening keynote speech to be given by Paul Gausman, Superintendent of the Sioux City School District, entitled “It Takes a Community.” The opening keynote will conclude at 11:45 AM EST, 10:45 AM CST, and 8:45 AM PST.

Rosalind Wiseman, Parenting and Bullying Expert, will deliver a one-hour presentation entitled “Queen Bees and Wannabes: Teaching Social Competency” at 1:30 PM EST, 12:30 CST, and 10:30 PST.

Morning breakout panels—“24/7 Bullying in the Digital Age” and “Schools in the Legal Twilight Zone”—will include keynote speakers followed by a Q and A with panelists. They will start at 12 P.M. EST, 11 AM CST, and 9 A.M. PST. Afternoon breakout panels—“Sick from Bullying” and “The Culture of Mean”—will follow the same format starting at 2:45 P.M. EST, 1:45 PM CST, and 11:45 PST. A conference-wide panel called “Leadership Makes the Difference” is scheduled for 3:45 P.M. EST, 2:45 P.M. CST, and 12:45 P.M. PST.

JDL Horizons will produce and stream the roundtable events with its EduVision streaming service. eSchool Media will accept the stream and deliver the roundtable events to a national audience of nearly 1 million K-12 educators throughout North America and around the world. The stream can be seen live at http://www.eschoolnews.com/video.

For the full summit agenda, including all panel discussions and speakers, see https://preventbullying.iowa.gov/.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

You must be logged in to post a comment Login