School library media specialists who are members of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) are eligible for 10 grants totalling more than $40,000 from the organization in the coming year.

The grants were announced recently on the AASL’s web site, and you can find application materials and the names of past winners for each of the programs there as well:

Exemplary school library media programs that are fully integrated into the school’s curriculum will be recognized by the National School Library Media Program of the Year Award. Grants of $7,000 will be made in each of three categories: large school district, small school district, and single school. The awards are donated by Follett Library Resources, and applications are due Jan. 6.

All other grants have an application deadline of Feb. 1. Some of the highlights include:

AASL Collaborative School Library Media Award: This $2,500 award, sponsored by Winnebago Software Company, encourages collaboration and partnerships between school library media specialists and teachers in meeting the educational goals outlined in Information Power: Building Partnerships for Learning, the American Library Association’s guide to building a successful school library media program. Partnerships should involve joint planning of a program, unit, or event in support of the curriculum and use of library media center resources to carry it out.

AASL/Highsmith Research Grant: This grant of up to $5,000, donated by The Highsmith Co., is awarded to conduct innovative research aimed at measuring and evaluating the impact of school library media programs on learning and education.

Distinguished School Administrators Award: This $2,000 award, donated by SIRS Inc., is given to a school administrator for developing an exemplary school library media program and making an outstanding and sustained contribution to advancing the role of the school library media center in education. Nominations must be made by AASL members.

Frances Henne Award: This $1,250 award, sponsored by the R.R. Bowker Company, is given to a school library media specialist with five or fewer years in the profession to attend an AASL conference or ALA Annual Conference for the first time.

Information Plus Continuing Education Scholarship: Two $500 scholarships, donated by Information Plus, are given to school library media specialists, supervisors, or educators to attend an ALA or AASL pre- or post-conference or regional workshop.

Information Technology Pathfinder Award (formerly the Microcomputer in the Media Center Award): This award, donated by Follett Software Company, recognizes library media specialists for innovative approaches to information technology in the school library media center. The award, $1,000 to the school library media specialist and $500 to the library, is given in two categories–elementary (K-6) and secondary (7-12).

For more information or an application for any of the awards, you can also contact the AASL Awards Program directly at E. Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60611; phone (800) 545-2433, ext. 4381; eMail