AAPT announces winners of physics photo contest

The American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) and Lexmark announced the winners of the annual AAPT/Lexmark High School Photo Contest. Through the partnership, students’ educational experiences are enhanced through math and science. The contest challenges high school students across the world to submit a photo illustrating an interesting physics concept. They are required to take the photo themselves and include a written summary of the physics behind the photo. Students were able to submit in one of two categories: natural, which includes any situation that the student witnessed, or contrived, which involves any situation where objects were manipulated to produce the phenomena photographed. The photos were judged on quality and the accuracy of the physics in the accompanying explanation. Winners in the natural category are: Arina Autina of Treasure Valley Math and Science Center (Idaho), Eurydice Rice, from Boston University Academy (Mass.), and Nils Rocine, Tamalpais High School (Calif.). Winners in the contrived category are: Kevin Rosenquist West Chicago Community High School (Ill.), Matthew Claspill, Helias High School (Mo.), and Helen He, North Toronto Collegiate Institute (Toronto, Ontario, Canada).

Want to share a great resource? Let us know at submissions@eschoolmedia.com.