New York, NY Oct. 16, 2006 — Unlike Spelling Bees which focus on the virtuoso spelling of rarely-used words, there’s a new game in town where everyone winds up a winner. The National Vocabulary Championship challenges high school students to test their vocabulary skills against other students across the country for the chance to win $40,000 to be deposited in a 529 college savings plan and other prizes, in a nationally televised vocabulary competition. GSN, the Network for Games, has partnered with The Princeton Review, one of the nation’s largest test preparation firms, to create this competition that sharpens skills every student needs to be a winner in life. Students need to act quickly and begin preparing by downloading materials at www.winwithwords.com. There are two ways a student may enter the National Vocabulary Championship. Students who attend a participating school in one of eight select areas that include New York, Boston, Detroit, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Sacramento, Calif., St. Louis and Palm Beach County, Florida can qualify by taking an in-school test . These top 100 scorers will then compete at Citywide Championships for a chance to win more than $5,000 toward a 539 savings plan and school grants, as well as a trip to the national finals. Students who participate in an in-school exam may not also participate in an online exam, and vice-versa. All other students around the country, between the ages of 13 through 19 and in grades 9–12, can qualify for the National Vocabulary Championship finals by taking a 30 minute qualifying exam that will first be administered online at www.winwithwords.com. Overall, 10 online qualifying exams will be offered from October 27th through November 5th during a testing window offered one time per day over the course of this 10-day period. Friday, October 27th–10:00 pm EST/7:00 pm PST

Saturday, October 28th–12:00 pm EST/9:00 am PST

Sunday, October 29th–10:00 pm EST/7:00 pm PST

Monday, October 30th–11:00 pm EST/8:00 pm PST

Tuesday, October 31st–11:30 pm EST/8:30 pm PST

Wednesday, November 1st–7:00 pm EST/4:00 pm PST

Thursday, November 2nd–8:00 pm EST/5:00 pm PST

Friday, November 3rd 10:00 pm EST/7:00 pm PST

Saturday, November 4th–5:00 pm EST/ 2:00 pm PST

Sunday, November 5th 9:00 pm EST/6:00 pm PST

Top scorers of the online exam will then compete at regional exams being hosted at Princeton Review locations around the country. Fifty finalists from the regional exams and the City Championships will win a trip to New York City for the televised National Vocabulary Championship Finals February 26, 2007. The finals will be hosted by Dylan Lane of GSN’s “Chain Reaction.”

Free study materials created by The Princeton Review are available at www.winwithwords.com to help students build their vocabularies. These guides are tailored for different learning styles, whether it’s kinesthetic, visual, or audio and offer a range of tips, such as memory aids like rhymes and mental pictures, which are known as mnemonic devices. The guides also explain how prefixes, suffixes and roots give clues to meanings, how to guess meaning from the context of a sentence, how to write better essays, and how to use a vocabulary journal.

A strong vocabulary helps strengthen students’ ability to read quickly, understand, and retain information so they do better in school. A comprehensive vocabulary improves performance on all kinds of standardized tests, from national and state tests, to the entrance exams for college, graduate school, law and medical schools. It opens career doors.

Whether it’s money for tuition, prizes from sponsors, study skills, or a wider vocabulary, students can only win with the National Vocabulary Championship.

>

About the Author:

eSchool News