Mrs. Laura Bush Presents Nation’s Top Museum and Library Awards at White House Ceremony; Institutions in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Nebraska, North Carolina, and Texas Honored

Washington, DC–Mrs. Laura Bush presented the 2006 National Awards for Museum and Library Service to three museums and three libraries at a ceremony at the White House Monday morning. It is the highest honor the nation confers on these institutions for their outstanding contribution to America’s communities. The awards are made annually by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) to museums and libraries that have demonstrated a long-term commitment to public service through innovative programs and community partnerships.

The award includes prizes of $10,000 to each recipient and an awards ceremony in the East Room of the White House to help raise public awareness of the good work the institutions are doing in their communities. The ceremony featured individuals from all walks of life whose lives have been changed for the better as a result of the award winning libraries and museums.

“These outstanding museums and libraries exemplify great community service,” said Mrs. Laura Bush. “They lead efforts to promote literacy, science education, environmental conservation, and good health. Like many libraries and museums around the country, these six have made themselves indispensable to the communities they serve.” View Mrs. Bush’s full remarks at

“These award-winning institutions are centers of excellence that connect people to information and ideas,” said Dr. Anne-Imelda Radice. Dr. Radice thanked the following for their support of the National Awards
celebration: 3M Library Systems, The History Channel, Metal Edge, Inc., and Scholastic. View Dr. Radice’s full remarks at

View 2006 National Awards brochure at (PDF, 762KB).

The winning institutions are (click links to read more and view photos):

Artrain USA, Ann Arbor, MI:
Frankfort Community Public Library, Frankfort, IN:
John G. Shedd Aquarium, Chicago, IL:
Lincoln Children’s Zoo, Lincoln, NE:
Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, Charlotte, NC:
San Antonio Public Library, San Antonio, TX:

The National Award for Museum Service was established in 1994, and the National Award for Library Service in 2000. Recipients of the awards are chosen for their innovative approaches to public service, and for their success in improving communities and making a difference in peoples’ lives. All types of museums, from anthropological to zoological, fine art to folk art, urban, suburban, rural, large and small are eligible for the award. Public and private nonprofit libraries are eligible to receive this award, and nominations of libraries of all sizes are encouraged. The deadline for the 2007 awards is February 15, 2007. For more information, see:

About the Institute of Museum and Library Services

The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of federal support for the nation’s 122,000 libraries and 17,500 museums. Its mission is to grow and sustain a “Nation of Learners” because lifelong learning is essential to a democratic society and individual success. Through its grant making, convenings, research and publications, the Institute empowers museums and libraries nationwide to provide leadership and services to enhance learning in families and communities, sustain cultural heritage, build twenty-first-century skills, and increase civic participation. To learn more about the Institute, please visit:

Want to share a great resource? Let us know at