CoSN Announces 2007 Board of Directors

Washington, DC (March 27, 2007) – On the eve of the Consortium for School Networking´s (CoSN) 12th Annual K-12 School Networking Conference – themed Bridging Individualized Learning and High-Stakes Accountability – the association today announced its new Board of Directors. The Board is comprised of 17 public and private sector education technology administrators and experts, who will work together to lead the direction of the association.

"I am deeply honored to be elected Board Chair, and to work with my colleagues over the next few years to continue developing strategies, public policy priorities and programs that advocate for and illustrate the value of technology in schools," said Katie Lovett, Chief Information Officer of Fulton County Schools, Georgia, who also served as this year´s CoSN Conference Chair.

"My colleagues on the Board represent some of the brightest and most innovative thinkers in the education technology community and I am pleased to continue serving with them in this new capacity," Lovett continued.

CoSN board members are elected by the CoSN membership each fall and serve three-year terms. The group is responsible for all CoSN policy and business decisions.

"The CoSN Board is comprised of the nation´s top education technology thought leaders. Their unique experiences and leadership skills help shape the vision and direction of the association and ensure we meet the needs of our members," said Keith Krueger, CoSN CEO.
2007 CoSN Board Officers

Katie Lovett, Chair
Chief Information Officer
Fulton County Schools
Atlanta, GA

Sheryl Abshire, Past Chair
Administrative Coordinator of Technology
Calcasieu Parish School System
Lake Charles, LA

Bob Moore, Past Chair
Executive Director of IT Services
Blue Valley USD #229
Overland Park, KS

Beverly White, Secretary
Chief Technology Officer
Wake County Public Schools
Raleigh, NC

Marianne Pack, Treasurer
Director, Delta Sierra Region 6
California Technology Assistance Project, Stanislaus County Office of Education
Modesto, CA

2007 CoSN Board Members

Marla Davenport*
Director of Learning & Technology
St. Paul, MN

Mike Hall
Associate Professor
Columbus State University
Columbus, GA

Karen Greenwood Henke
Writer and Consultant
Nimble Press
San Francisco, CA

Sharnell Jackson
Chief eLearning Officer
Chicago Public Schools
Chicago, IL

Lil Kellogg*
Vice President
Education Networks of America (ENA)

Arjan Khalsa
President and CEO
Cambium Learning Technologies
Bedford, MA

Darryl LaGrace*
Chief Technology Officer
Lemon Grove School District
Lemon Grove, CA

Amy Perry-DelCorvo
Education Strategist
Wayne Finger Lakes BOCES
Newark, NY

John Q. Porter
Deputy Superintendent for Technology and Accountability
Montgomery County Public Schools
Rockville, MD

Steve Sanders*
Director, Instructional Media and Technology Team
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Madison, WI

Barbara Stein
Senior Policy Analyst
National Education Association
Washington, DC

Ed Zaiontz*
Executive Director, Information Services
Round Rock ISD
Round Rock, TX

* New Board Member

During today´s announcement, CoSN also recognized the outstanding service and contributions of five outgoing members of the Board, who include:

Mark Crosby
Vice President, Marketing

Michael Golden
Former Deputy Superintendent
Pennsylvania Department of Education
Harrisburg, PA

Don Hall
Former Executive Director, Information Technology
Kent School District
Kent, WA

Jim Hirsch, Past Chair
Associate Superintendent for Technology & Academic Services
Plano ISD
Plano, TX

Steve Zsiray
Principal and CEO
InTech Collegiate High School at Utah State University
North Logan, UT

For more information about the CoSN Board of Directors, visit

About the Consortium for School Networking (CoSN)
CoSN is the country´s premier voice in education technology leadership, serving K-12 technology leaders who through their strategic use of technology, improve teaching and learning. CoSN provides products and services to support and nurture leadership development, advocacy, coalition building, and awareness of emerging technologies.

CoSN leadership initiatives include: Accessible Technologies for All Students (;

Cyber Security for the Digital District (; Data-Driven Decision-Making ( K-12 Open Technologies (; Taking Total Cost of Ownership to the Classroom (; Value of Investment ( and the development of the Council of School District Chief Technology Officers (CTO Council).

CoSN´s membership includes a unique blend of education and technology leaders, policy makers, and influencers from the public and private sectors. Our audience includes key technology leaders (often called Chief Technology Officers–CTOs) in leading-edge states and districts, policy makers, private sector leaders, as well as those technology leaders who wish to accelerate their districts´ or states´ systemic technology use. Visit or phone 866.267.8747 to find out more about CoSN´s programs and activities supporting leadership development to ensure that information technology has a direct and positive impact on student learning in elementary and secondary schools.

Want to share a great resource? Let us know at