Washington, D.C. — The International Society for Technology in Education
(ISTE (®) has announced the results of its 2007-2008 board election. ISTE
members elected seven new board members and re-elected one.

Newly elected to the board were the following:

* At-Large Representatives: Jeanne Biddle, director of technology/chief
technology officer, Scott County Schools, Kentucky; and Ferdi Serim,
director, Southwest Region, National Network of Digital Schools, New Mexico

* Computer Science Representative: Stephen Rainwater, associate professor
(tenured), Department of Computer Science, The University of Texas at Tyler

* Corporate Member Representative: Deb deVries, vice president, Strategic
Market Development, Pearson Education, New Jersey

* International Representative: Ralph Leonard, general manager information
economy, Government of South Australia: Department of Further Education,
Employment, Science and Technology

* PK-12 Schools Representative: Howard Levin, director of technology, Urban
School of San Francisco, California

* State Technology Director Representative: Carla Wade, technology education
specialist and Title I lead, Oregon Department of Education.

Re-elected to the board was Affiliate Representative Helen L. Padgett,
Arizona Technology in Education Alliance (AzTEA), faculty member
(part-time), Arizona State University West.

Nominations for the one re-elected board member and seven new board members
were solicited online at ISTE´s Web site, www.iste.org.

Trina Davis, assistant professor and director of eEducation at Texas A&M
University, will assume the role of president for 2007-2009.

The new board members will take office in June at a board meeting held in
conjunction with the National Educational Computing Conference (NECC) in
Atlanta. Board officers will be appointed at that time as well.

The following members will continue serving on the ISTE board of directors
for 2007-2008:

* Jill Brown, PK-12 schools representative

* Camilla Gagliolo, Special Interest Group representative

* Ryan Imbriale, affiliate representative

* Doug Johnson, at-large representative

* Richard Martinez, school district administrator representative

* Kyle Peck, teacher education representative

* Helen Soule, corporate member representative

* Kurt Steinhaus, past president

About ISTE

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) is the trusted
source for professional development, knowledge generation, advocacy, and
leadership for innovation. A nonprofit membership association, ISTE provides
leadership and service to improve teaching, learning, and school leadership
by advancing the effective use of technology in PK-12 and teacher education.
Home of the National Educational Technology Standards (NETS), the Center for
Applied Research in Educational Technology (CARET), and the National
Educational Computing Conference (NECC), ISTE represents more than 85,000
professionals worldwide. We support our members with information, networking
opportunities, and guidance as they face the challenge of transforming

Visit www.iste.org or call (800) 336-5191 to learn more about ISTE and its
new initiatives — including the next generation of NETS for Students,
Teachers, and Administrators.

ISTE is the registered trademark of International Society for Technology in

About the Author:

eSchool News