The only net neutrality proposal to encounter some measure of success in the U.S. Congress is back again for another try, CNET reports. As foreshadowed at a March hearing, House Judiciary Committee Chairman John Conyers, D-Mich., on May 8 reintroduced the Internet Freedom and Non-discrimination Act, which passed by a 20-13 vote in the same committee in 2006. Rep. Zoe Lofgren, D-Calif., is co-sponsoring the bill, but so far, it's not clear whether any Republicans have signed on. Just like last time, the bill would rewrite U.S. antitrust law to prohibit network operators such as AT&T and Comcast from blocking,


Subscribe to Read More

Are You an Educator?

Get Free online access to all our news and resources

  • About the Author:

    eSchool News