LAWRENCE, Kan. — The nominations phase of the 2011 SchoolE Awards closed Friday, March 11. The SchoolE Awards are an opportunity for districts and schools all across the country to be recognized for having the best school district website.

More than 7,500 nominations have poured in from all 50 states since the beginning of the contest. The top 15 districts who received the most nominations from each of the 3 categories (small, medium and large) will move on to the judging stage. The top 15 districts are as follows:

1. Brownsville ISD
2. Marion County School District
3. Newport News CPS
4. Fayette County
5. Prince George’s
6. San Bernardino City
7. Clear Creek ISD
8. Montgomery County
9. Fairfax County Public
10. Chatham County
11. Mobile County
12. Keller ISD
13. Elk Grove Unified
14. Clark County
15. Polk County Schools

1. Rockingham County
2. Independence 30
3. North Allegheny SD
4. Upper Darby SD
5. Township HSD
6. Blue Springs R-IV
7. Oxnard Union High
8. Walker County
9. Richland County 02
10. Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD
11. McAllen ISD
12. Lawrence Public Schools
13. Bradley Cty. School District
14. York County Public Schools
15. Natrona Cty. SD #1

1. Danville Independent
2. Zachary Community Schools
3. Groton School District
4. University Academy
5. New Milford
6. Lakeland District
7. Godfrey-Lee Public
8. St. James Schools
9. South Texas ISD
10. North Mason SD
11. Basehor-Linwood USD
12. Beggs Public Schools
13. Grain Valley R-V
14. Metcalfe County
15. Lexington City Schools

The SchoolE panel of eight judges is currently analyzing the semi-finalist districts. Based on the judges’ evaluations, the top seven district websites will be announced as finalists on March 28th, and the voting phase will begin. Finalists will have until May 5th, 2011 to vote. The top district from each category with the most votes will be awarded with the 2011 SchoolE Award for “Best District Website.”

About the Author:

eSchool News