The Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and mtvU, MTV’s 24-hour college network, announced the four 2011 winners of the Fulbright-mtvU Fellowships, an academic exchange program established in 2007 to promote the power of music as a global force for strengthening and expanding people-to-people relationships and developing greater mutual understanding among cultures.

The Fellowships were awarded to Kyle K. Inman of DePauw University, Lauren Knapp of Grinnell College, Jennifer Saura of Harvard University, and Meja Shoba of the University of California, Los Angeles. Recipients were chosen through a multi-tiered, merit-based selection process beginning with field and discipline reviews by U.S. and foreign academic leaders and area experts. mtvU and musical artists James Murphy from LCD Soundsystem, 30 Seconds to Mars’ Jared Leto, and Matt & Kim then reviewed and nominated the top qualified candidates. Final selections were made by the Presidentially-appointed J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

To read more about the award, click here.

About the Author:

Laura Ascione

Laura Ascione is the Managing Editor, Content Services at eSchool Media. She is a graduate of the University of Maryland's prestigious Philip Merrill College of Journalism. When she isn't wrangling her two children, Laura enjoys running, photography, home improvement, and rooting for the Terps. Find Laura on Twitter: @eSN_Laura