President, CUE Board of Directors

CUE Board Confirms Leadership for 2012-2013 School Year

Walnut Creek, California, June 1 – At the CUE Board of Directors meeting Wednesday, May 30, new officers were elected for the 2012-2013 year, and two board members completed their service on the board.

The newly elected officers below begin their respective roles on July 1:
● Robert Craven, President
● Dr. Ray Chavez, Vice President/Treasurer
● Diana Paradise, Secretary.

Joyce Miller, member at large, completed her three-year term on the board, which included tireless service as board secretary during her tenure. CUE wishes Joyce well and thanks her for her outstanding service.

In addition, Board President Micheline LeBlanc stepped down from the board one year prior to the end of her term, citing family illness. Micheline has been an essential member of the CUE Board of Directors since 2007 and has served as its President since 2010. She guided CUE through the re-establishment of the Fall CUE Conference, oversaw the growth of the CUEtoYOU Professional Development program, worked to continue restoring the fiscal reserve and enhanced the organizational health of several CUE affiliates. She and her husband will be leaving California in early summer.

The Board of Directors appointed departing board member Kurt Larsen to complete Micheline’s final year. Kurt shares much with Micheline: five years of CUE Board service; a Northern California perspective; and many of the same priorities including the update of CUE’s website, the importance of the northern Fall CUE conference, the need for strong affiliates, SIGs and committees, and the desire to always look for the next “big thing.” Most importantly, Kurt has demonstrated an excellent grasp of the needs of the CUE community, of board roles, and of member services. CUE wishes Micheline and her family well and congratulates and thanks Kurt Larsen for his willingness to serve one more year.

Robert Craven will begin his second three-year term on the board on July 1. Also joining the board are two new members: 1997 CUE Technology in Learning Leadership recipient Roger Wagner, creator of Hyperstudio and 2011 CUE Gold Disk recipient Suzanne Mitchell, CUE’s long-serving Conference Chair. For more about Robert, Roger and Suzanne, see their bios at

# # #

About the CUE Board of Directors
CUE is guided by a nine-member volunteer Board of Directors, one third of whom are elected by the membership each year. The board is made up of active or retired K12 educators, University and Higher-Ed professors, members of the educational IT community and representatives of Educational Technology businesses or other non-profit organizations.

About CUE
Ed Tech Professional Development is at the core of CUE’s work. We are passionate believers in advancing student achievement through technology. By providing Ed Tech professional development to schools, districts, and local educators on the infusion of emerging technologies, we can help better prepare students for college and careers ahead. |

About the Author:

eSchool News