RIPON, Wis. (July 9, 2013) – The National Forensic League, the speech and debate honor society for students, announces the winners of the 2013 Lincoln Financial Group/National Forensic League National Speech & Debate Tournament. The world’s largest academic competition was held June 16-21 in Birmingham, Ala.

This year’s main event national champions include:

  • Nathaniel Sawyer and Natalie Knez from Glenbrook North High School, Northbrook, Ill., in Policy Debate
  • Grant Sinnott and Aishu Bharathidasan from Lake Highland Preparatory, Orlando, Fla., in Public Forum Debate
  • Laith Shakir from Leland High School, San Jose, Calif., in Lincoln-Douglas Debate
  • Gregory Bernstein from Nova High School, Davie, Fla., in Congressional Debate–Senate
  • Cameron Silverglate from American Heritage School, Plantation, Fla., in Congressional Debate–House
  • Arel Rende from Tulsa Washington High School, Tulsa, Okla., in United States Extemporaneous Speaking
  • Nathan Leys from Roosevelt High School, Des Moines, Iowa, in International Extemporaneous Speaking
  • Jenny Vuong from Gabrielino High School, San Gabriel, Calif., in Original Oratory
  • Noah Jermain from Savannah R3 High School, Savannah, Mo., in Humorous Interpretation
  • Anthony Nadeau from Royal Palm Beach High School, Royal Palm Beach, Fla., in Dramatic Interpretation
  • Michael Dobuski and Sean Jordan from Holy Ghost Prep, Bensalem, Pa., in Duo Interpretation

In addition, students eliminated from main event competition were allowed to re-register and compete in supplemental and consolation events. Those national champions include:

  • Kelsey Ritchie from Bishop Kelley High School, Tulsa, Okla., in Commentary
  • Audrey Keen from University High School, Normal, Ill., in Expository Speaking
  • Rishi Suresh from Clear Brook High School, Friendswood, Texas, in Extemporaneous Debate
  • Ashley Anna Meyer from Niceville High School, Niceville, Fla., in Poetry Reading
  • Tyler Tippings from Schurr High School, Montebello, Calif., in Prose Reading
  • Alexander Buckley from Downers Grove North High School, Downers Grove, Ill., in Impromptu Speaking
  • Sam Scarlato from Chanhassen High School, Chanhassen, Minn., in Storytelling

Robert H. Shaw from Glenbrook South High School, Glenview, Ill., was named the William Woods Tate, Jr., Student of the Year; Jon Cruz from The Bronx High School of Science, New York City, N.Y., was named the James Madison Copeland Coach of the Year; and Douglas Wine from East Mountain High School, Sandia Park, N.M., was named Principal of the Year.

“This year’s Tournament was an outstanding success,” said Executive Director of the National Forensic League, J. Scott Wunn. “Every year I am amazed by the hard work and dedication these students demonstrate in speech and debate. This year’s champions and award winners truly embody the values of the National Forensic League.”

The Tournament marks the capstone of high school speech and debate activities for nearly 120,000 students around the nation. This year, nearly 3,500 high school students from 1,020 schools participated in the Tournament, including students from 20 international schools located in countries such as China and Korea.

The National Forensic League has held the National Speech & Debate Tournament continuously since 1931 (except during World War II). Events and rules have changed with the growth of the League, but the League’s commitment to honoring the best competitors in the world has remained constant. For more information about the Tournament, visit

To view a complete list of finalists and award winners, visit:

To access a complete results packet that includes student scores from each event, visit:

About the National Forensic League
The National Forensic League is the honor society for middle and high school speech and debate. The nonprofit organization recognizes participation and progress in public speaking and debating activities as a means to meet the Common Core State Standards in listening, speaking, reading and writing. The League empowers students to become effective communicators, ethical individuals, critical thinkers, and leaders in our democratic society. Since 1925, more than 1.4 million students have participated in the League, with more than 120,000 active members representing more than 3,000 schools. The League awards more than $200,000 in college scholarships at its annual National Tournament, the largest academic competition in the world.

Media Contacts
• Vicki Pape, National Forensic League, 920-748-6206,

• Emily Embury, C. Blohm & Associates, 608-216-7300 x19,

About the Author: