11 states seek relief from NCLB

The U.S. Department of Education announced Tuesday that 11 states have formally submitted requests for waivers from key provisions of No Child Left Behind, the Huffington Post reports. Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Tennessee have submitted to the Education Department curriculums and plans catered to their localities in exchange for flexibility from federal education mandates. The submissions come after President Barack Obama’s September announcement that the administration would offer a “flexibility package” to states if they demonstrate a true commitment to reform, unleashing “energy to improve our schools at the local level.”

Click here for the full story

Want to share a great resource? Let us know at submissions@eschoolmedia.com.