According to American psychologist Abraham Maslow, all humans have the same fundamental needs (food, clothing and shelter), and these needs must be met before an individual is motivated to look beyond these basic needs. This motivational theory is commonly referred to as Maslow’s hierarchy of needs.

This concept derives out of the belief that constant betterment can only be achieved when certain needs are mastered. The layers of Maslow’s theory include:

  • Physiological (basic) needs: food, water, warmth, rest

  • Safety needs: security, safety

  • Love needs: intimate relationships, friends

  • Esteem needs: feeling of accomplishment

  • Self-actualization: achieving one’s full potential

To not overcomplicate Maslow’s philosophy,...

Subscribe to Read More

Are You an Educator?

Get Free online access to all our news and resources

  • About the Author:

    Dave Saltmarsh is global education evangelist at Jamf, an Apple device management company. Prior to joining the company in 2013, he served as an IT and library director as well as a math and science teacher at schools in Maine and Arizona. Dave has more than 20 years of experience working to improve the educational environment through the innovative integrations of technology through effective leadership of school instructional and information technology.