LIVE @ ISTE 2024: Exclusive Coverage

Some Florida teachers must work an extra hour each day without pay


Some Florida teachers will be made to teach an extra hour each day, with their compensation for that additional hour still in flux, WPLG reports. In March, the state Legislature passed a law requiring the 100 lowest-performing schools on the reading FCAT to provide an extra hour of reading instruction beyond the normal school day. According to WPLG, the state earmarked $30 million to pay teachers for the additional hour. But Karen Aronowitz of United Teachers of Dade maintains this amount is not sufficient. The Palm Beach Post reports that Palm Beach County — the fifth-largest school district in Florida — had anticipated some of its schools being named to the lowest-100 list, and had set aside about $5 million in anticipation of that fact…

Click here for the full story

Sign up for our K-12 newsletter

Newsletter: Innovations in K12 Education
By submitting your information, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Want to share a great resource? Let us know at submissions@eschoolmedia.com.

New Resource Center
Explore the latest information we’ve curated to help educators understand and embrace the ever-evolving science of reading.
Get Free Access Today!

"*" indicates required fields

Hidden
Hidden
Hidden
Hidden
Hidden
Hidden
Hidden
Hidden
Hidden
Hidden
Email Newsletters:

By submitting your information, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

eSchool News uses cookies to improve your experience. Visit our Privacy Policy for more information.