2010 eSchool News Tech-Savvy Superintendent Award winners named


This year's TSSA winners bring technology know-how to their districts.

eSchool News (eSN) announces today the top ten superintendents from around the nation who best exemplify outstanding leadership in the use of technology to further educational goals.

Here are the winners of the 2010 eSN Tech-Savvy Superintendent Awards:

• Eric Conti–Burlington, MA
• Jan Harris–Cullman, AL
• Manuel Isquierdo–Sunnyside, AZ
• Chip Kimball — Lake Washington, WA
• Pam Moran — Albemarle County, VA
• Carolyn Ross — Churchill County, NV
• Kim Ross– Houston Public Schools, MN
• Amy Sichel–Abington, PA
• Gary Smuts — ABC Unified, CA
• Craig Witherspoon — Edgecombe County, NC

The 2010 winners were selected based on 10 “Hallmarks of Excellence”:

Each laureate . . .
1. Must be a general superintendent.
2. Models the effective use of technology in the day-to-day execution of the superintendency.
3. Ensures that technology resources are equitably distributed among students and staff.
4. Insists that adequate professional development is a component of every technology initiative.
5. Demonstrates exceptional vision in leading the development and implementation of a district-wide technology plan.
6. Exhibits a thorough understanding of the role of technology in education and can articulate that understanding to all school district stakeholders.
7. Provides exceptional leadership in supporting the integration of technology into the curriculum.
8. Demonstrates exceptional vision in employing technology to streamline school district business operations.
9. Demonstrates curiosity and open-mindedness in considering emerging technologies and weighing non-traditional solutions to traditional problems.
10. Thinks creatively and strategically about the long-term challenges and opportunities of technology in the school district and in education at large.

Laureates of the Tenth Annual eSN Tech-Savvy Superintendent Awards Program–produced with financial support from Promethean, Pearson Foundation, K12 Inc., and Eduvision–are invited to an exclusive, private luncheon to be held on February 11, 2010, at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel simultaneous with the annual American Association of School Administrators’ National Conference on Education.

The awards ceremony, held in conjunction with The Century Club 100 annual meeting, will feature Tom Carroll, Ph.D., president of NCTAF (the National Commission of Teaching and America’s Future) discussing how education leaders can transform schools from teaching organizations into learning organizations.

“A new feature of this 10th anniversary awards ceremony will be multimedia highlights from the school districts of each 2010 Tech-Savvy Superintendent laureate,” said Gregg W. Downey, publisher and president, of eSchool News. “These dynamic highlights will be featured as the laureates come forward to receive recognition from their fellow superintendents assembled from around the nation. The multimedia segments will give attendees an idea of why each laureate deserves to be a Tech-Savvy Superintendent of 2010, while simultaneously underscoring the school district’s technological prowess and enlivening the awards ceremony itself.”

“Research shows that technology can facilitate better teaching and learning, but only when used judiciously,” said Dennis Pierce, editor of eSchool News. “And that starts at the very top, with strong district leadership. If you start with a clear vision for how to implement technology effectively, and you make sure your staff is well supported and trained, and you seek to change instructional practices to leverage technology’s potential, then technology really can empower education. And that’s what the winners of our annual Tech-Savvy Superintendent Awards have done.”

This year the TSSA Program will be available for viewing by educators and others around the world via streaming video at www.eSchoolNews.TV. Make sure to visit the website to view the ceremony live on February 11th beginning at 12:30 p.m. MST — Mountain Standard Time (11:30 a.m. PST, 1:30 p.m. CST, 2:30 p.m. EST).
(Television news directors who wish to obtain broadcast-quality video of the ceremony may make arrangements with eSN’s video production team, headed by Tom Lapping at tlapping@jdlhorizons.com or 612-669-1130.)

Launched in 2001, the Tech-Savvy Superintendent Awards (TSSA) Program honors K-12 chief executives who have displayed exemplary vision in the use of technology to further the goals of educating today’s students and equip them with 21st century skills. Initially, superintendents are nominated by their colleagues and peers. Once a field of hundreds of nominations are culled, the editors of eSN along with past-years’ TSSA laureates select the current cohort of ten winners.

In support of the TSSA Program, the eSchool News Network provides broad editorial coverage in its print and online publications along with video excerpts of the awards ceremony as well as interviews with the winning superintendents at its online video channel, www.eSchoolNews.TV.

Sign up for our K-12 newsletter

Newsletter: Innovations in K12 Education
By submitting your information, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Laura Ascione

Want to share a great resource? Let us know at submissions@eschoolmedia.com.

eSchool News uses cookies to improve your experience. Visit our Privacy Policy for more information.