LIVE@CoSN2024: Exclusive Coverage

Fulbright-mtvU Fellowship winners announced

The Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and mtvU, MTV’s 24-hour college network, announced the four 2011 winners of the Fulbright-mtvU Fellowships, an academic exchange program established in 2007 to promote the power of music as a global force for strengthening and expanding people-to-people relationships and developing greater mutual understanding among cultures.

The Fellowships were awarded to Kyle K. Inman of DePauw University, Lauren Knapp of Grinnell College, Jennifer Saura of Harvard University, and Meja Shoba of the University of California, Los Angeles. Recipients were chosen through a multi-tiered, merit-based selection process beginning with field and discipline reviews by U.S. and foreign academic leaders and area experts. mtvU and musical artists James Murphy from LCD Soundsystem, 30 Seconds to Mars’ Jared Leto, and Matt & Kim then reviewed and nominated the top qualified candidates. Final selections were made by the Presidentially-appointed J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

To read more about the award, click here.

Sign up for our K-12 newsletter

Newsletter: Innovations in K12 Education
By submitting your information, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Laura Ascione

Want to share a great resource? Let us know at

eSchool News uses cookies to improve your experience. Visit our Privacy Policy for more information.