North Carolina: Make fun of a teacher, go to jail

If North Carolina high school students bully a teacher online, they will pay the price, reports. On December 1, a law went into effect that expands the state’s anti-cyberbullying statute to protect the state’s educators. Under the School Violence Prevention Act of 2012, students will be reprimanded if they make any statement—true or false—that could provoke others to stalk or harass teachers or school employees. Students will also be severely punished if they target school administration by building a fake online profile or website, tamper with their online data or accounts, sign them up to a pornographic website or post private, personal, or sexual information. The penalties aren’t a slap on the wrist either. If caught, a student could face criminal charges, stay up to 60 days in jail, and face a $1,000 fine…

Click here for the full story

Sign up for our K-12 newsletter

Newsletter: Innovations in K12 Education
By submitting your information, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Want to share a great resource? Let us know at

eSchool News uses cookies to improve your experience. Visit our Privacy Policy for more information.