LIVE @ ISTE 2024: Exclusive Coverage

Nominations open for The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education

Nominations will be accepted online now until October 31st

The nomination window is open for the 2017 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education, which honors innovation and has become one of the most prestigious educational awards since its founding in 1988. The Prize is administered through an alliance between McGraw-Hill Education and Arizona State University, which began in 2015.

The public will have the opportunity to submit nominations by visiting until October 31st, 2016. The 2017 Prize winners will be featured at and join in an evening reception during the ASU GSV Education Innovation Summit in Salt Lake City, Utah, on May 8-10, 2017.

The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education annually recognizes outstanding individuals who have dedicated themselves to improving education through new approaches and whose accomplishments are making a difference today. The Prize includes three categories: U.S. K-12 and higher education, and international education. Honorees receive an award of $50,000 and a bronze sculpture designed by students from ASU.

Other past Prize winners include:

Geoffrey Canada, President and CEO, Harlem Children’s Zone, Inc.
Sal Khan, Founder of the Khan Academy
Wendy Kopp, Former President and Founder of Teach For America, and
Andreas Schleicher, Director for Education and Skills and Special Advisor on Education Policy to the Secretary-General at the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

“Since the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education was founded in 1988 to honor my father, we have recognized some of the most important education leaders of the past generation,” said Harold (Terry) McGraw III, former CEO and Chairman Emeritus of the Board of The McGraw-Hill Companies. “My family and I are thrilled to see how the Prize has grown over the years to become one of the most sought-after recognitions in education.”

“It is an honor to be involved with this program that recognizes leaders who have done transformational work on behalf of students and learners around the world,” said David Levin, President and CEO of McGraw-Hill Education. “Highlighting the work of innovators who make a profound difference both raises awareness and inspires others who are striving to improve education.”

“This prize recognizes more than an individual moment of discovery,” said Dr. Michael Crow, president of Arizona State University. “It spotlights those who build creative processes and structures that foster a mindset of perpetual innovation, constantly rethinking and changing how we do things and make things. That’s how we will transform education and the world.”

For updates on the Prize and news from past winners, connect on Twitter at @McGrawPrize or follow the conversation at #McGrawPrize.


Laura Ascione

Want to share a great resource? Let us know at

New Resource Center
Explore the latest information we’ve curated to help educators understand and embrace the ever-evolving science of reading.
Get Free Access Today!

"*" indicates required fields

Email Newsletters:

By submitting your information, you agree to our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

eSchool News uses cookies to improve your experience. Visit our Privacy Policy for more information.